Derek McMillan elected unanimously as new Chairperson of the Retirement Living Council which now replaces the Retirement Village Association

Published on

Derek McMillan, CEO, Australian Unity Retirement Living, was elected Chairperson of the Retirement Living Council, which replaces the RVA as the industry peak body. Nieves Murray (IRT) and Stuart Nicolson (Becton) were elected Deputy Chairs. Simon Owen, President of the RVA for the past four years, stood aside. The Retirement Living Council consists of 17 large village operators plus three smaller, individual operators within the Property Council. The good news is that Stockland has now engaged with the sector via the Retirement Living Council – they were not a member of the Retirement Village Association. RSL Care [QLD] is also understood to have joined the property Council – its first engagement at this level with the sector.
Shortlisted candidates for the position of Executive Director have also been interviewed with an announcement imminent. It is understood they will be based in Canberra.