New single Aged Care Quality Standards to hold boards and management of providers accountable

Published on

Executives and boards take note – Minister for Aged Care Ken Wyatt says aged care providers will be required to prove their care and services are safe, effective and focused on their consumers,  including through unannounced visits.

The new Quality Standards cover:

  • Consumer dignity and choice
  • Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers
  • Personal care and clinical care
  • Services and supports for daily living
  • Organisation’s service environment
  • Feedback and complaints
  • Human resources
  • Organisational governance.

Adhering to each Standard will require:

  • A statement of outcome for the consumer
  • A statement of expectation for the organisation
  • Requirements to demonstrate the standard has been met.

The Government is currently providing $50 million in funding to help providers transition to the new Standards, which must be in place by 1 July 2019.

They will cover residential care, home care, flexible care, and services delivered under the Commonwealth Home Support Program (CHSP).

For more information on the Standards, click HERE.