National Cabinet expands coronavirus testing criteria to aged care staff and residents

Published on

The Cabinet has agreed anyone who has a fever or acute respiratory infection and meets one of the following criteria will now be eligible for testing:

  • all health workers
  • all aged/residential care workers
  • geographically localised areas where there is elevated risk of community transmission as defined by the local public health unit
  • where no community transmission is occurring, high risk settings where there are two or more plausibly-linked cases, for example:
  • aged and residential care
  • rural and remote Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities
  • detention centres/correctional facilities
  • boarding schools
  • military bases (including Navy ships) that have live-in accommodation.